what did you want to be when you grew up?

selahriri
2 min readAug 12, 2021

--

To recognize one’s own insanity is, of course, the arising of sanity, the beginning of healing and transcendence.

Eckhart Tolle

Photo by Ismail Salad Hajji dirir on Unsplash

before…

as a sensitive child, i’d answer the question above with titles and positions that piqued my interest at the moment. my tendency was to mirror those around me (and that’s how they answered the question so pediatrician, businesswoman, crime scene investigator were just a couple of my ideas).

but now as i reflect the truth is that i didn’t care so much for a title or position, i simply wanted to be two things: liked and like everyone else

i wanted to not bring attention to myself

because if others took a look a little bit longer in observing or investing in me, they might pick up on the fact that i’m a bit peculiar and hard to pin as belonging or fitting in with society

…after

as a sensitive and confident adult, i can tell you my answer to the question is i want most of all to be myself, the one God intended

unapologetically

to be the woman who knows my name and every quirk was given to me for a reason

this woman that i am is daughter first of the King of Kings, disciple of Jesus, wholehearted, compassionate, rational, ardent, crazy, curious, warm, determined, resilient, disciplined, community-oriented, and health conscious

praising Father God for showing me me in His perfect timing that I am my younger self’s real dream

always in ❤️

#ndaylovechallenge

--

--

selahriri

In the words of Poet Robert Frost, “I took the road less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.”